L'information

Arthur Cayley


Arthur Cayley, est né le 16 août 1821 et est décédé le 26 janvier 1895. Il était un mathématicien anglais qui a apporté une contribution majeure à l'avancement des mathématiques pures. Diplômé (1842) du Trinity College de Cambridge, il entra plus tard en droit et fut admis (1849) au barreau de Londres. Cayley a développé la théorie de l'invariance algébrique et son développement de la géométrie non dimensionnelle a été appliqué en physique pour l'étude de la QUANTITÉ CONTINUE D'ESPACE-TEMPS.

Les travaux de Cayley sur les matrices algébriques ont servi de base à la mécanique quantique, qui a été développée par Werner Heisenberg en 1925. Cayley a également suggéré que la GÉOMÉTRIE EUCLIDIENNE et la GÉOMÉTRIE NON EUCLIDIENNE sont des types particuliers de géométrie.

Il a uni la géométrie projective (qui dépend des propriétés invariantes des figures) et la géométrie métrique (dépend des tailles d'angle et des tailles de ligne). Les documents mathématiques de Cayley ont été publiés à Cambridge (1889-98).

Bell, E.T., Men of Mathematics (1937; repr. 1986); Prasad, Ganesh, Quelques grands mathématiciens du dix-neuvième siècle, vol. 2 (1934).

Vidéo: Arthur Cayley (Décembre 2020).

Information

Arthur Cayley


Arthur Cayley, was born on August 16, 1821, and died on January 26, 1895. He was an English mathematician who made a major contribution to the advancement of pure mathematics. Graduating (1842) at Trinity College, Cambridge, he later entered law and was admitted (1849) to the London Bar. Cayley developed the theory of algebraic invariance, and his development of non-dimensional geometry was applied in physics for the study of CONTINUOUS SPACE-TIME QUANTITY.

Cayley's work on algebraic matrices served as a foundation for Quantum Mechanics, which was developed by Werner Heisenberg in 1925. Cayley also suggested that EUCLIDIAN GEOMETRY and NON-EUCLIDIAN GEOMETRY are special types of geometry.

He united Projective Geometry (which is dependent on invariant properties of figures) and Metric Geometry (dependent on angle sizes and line sizes). Cayley's mathematical documents were published in Cambridge (1889-98).

Bell, E.T., Men of Mathematics (1937; repr. 1986); Prasad, Ganesh, Some Great Mathematicians of the Nineteenth Century, vol. 2 (1934).